Outside my comfort zone

“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.”

I think this is something that we all struggle with. I mean, really, no one WANTS to leave their comfort zone and venture into the unknown. A few months ago I heard someone say, “when you’re lost, you want to be comfortable.” Which I realized is incredibly too true. Because if you don’t know that someone is there to catch you before you fall, are you really going to be willing to step off into the unknown? I know I wasn’t.

Before I knew the Lord and what He wanted to do for me, I never knew that there was someone there to catch me if I fell. Before this journey began, I was an introvert, afraid of sharing my poetry with people, afraid of letting people see the ‘real’ me, afraid of going anywhere where I had to associate with new people, and terrified of what other people thought of me. But now…now it’s a whole different story. Now, although still an introvert, I am more open to other people – talking to them, sharing my poetry, and letting them get to know me. I’m even stepping far enough out of my comfort zone as to volunteer to go to Guatemala on a mission trip.

Thinking of my “comfort zone” reminds me of the Casting Crowns song “Voice of Truth.” I love that song.

My faith is in Jesus, that He is there and will protect me when I am out of my comfort zone and I’m afraid. What a glorious feeling!

My Comfort Zone
A narrow existance
Left her afraid
Unwilling to leave
The mistakes she had made
Lost in a comfort
That didn’t relieve
All that she needed
Was just to believe
But she locked the door
In the darkness felt safe
And she didn’t notice
Her biggest mistake
Isolation was sweet
And bitter in nature
But no one could hurt
If they didn’t know her

Her comfort zone crashed
At the sound of your voice
It was in that moment
She saw no other choice
She let down her walls
And welcomed You in
Asked You to forgive
Her every last sin
True to Your word
You opened your arms
Made her safe in the light
And You cleansed her heart
Stepping from comfort
Into the love of a Father
Who won’t let harm come
To His precious daughter
Her life is all Yours
As she lives through faith
Outside of her comfort zone
You keep her safe

Leave a Reply

Best Race Signs

A collection of the signs that inspire us when we run races.

Bald Runner

My Journey In Ultra Running

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

running in circles

it's more fun to run together

Breaking the Chains

Moving Forward in Life

Faith4TheJourney

And this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent. ~John 17:3

Our Life On The Border

Our life and ministry on the Border, The Baja & Beyond!

Jesus is for Losers

Really Random Thoughts From a Crazed Follower of Jesus

liveworship

ˈliv ˈwər-shəp - The collision of life, God, and the church.

ONE MOUNTAIN AT A TIME

Sharing stories. Encouraging hearts.

Grace Bible Church - Killeen, TX

Trust God's GRACE. Submit to the BIBLE in community. Be the CHURCH.

