Powerless

This poem was motivated from Lesson 2: Powerless, of the Celebrate Recovery ciriculum.

Powerless
Why is my pride always in my way?
When all that I want is to send You my praise.
At the foot of the cross, I will be humbled
As You pick me up from where I stumbled

If only I’d known, of Your love sooner
Would I still be here, angry and bitter?
But does it really matter when I found out?
Either way I’m still fighting the matter of doubt

So why do I worry on what I can’t control
God, You win. Here’s my life. I fold.
What can You do with this life I have wrecked
Can You really move my sins to the west?

I tried to escape but still You pursued
You only wanted to see me through
Can I escape into Your loving arms
Oh, Father won’t You just hold me unharmed

Will You help me forgive those who I resent?
As You forgive me once I repent.
Why did I hold on to anger for so long?
I never let go of every last wrong.

When I am lonely, what will I choose?
Will I choose to give in or come running to You?
You want to save my soul from sin’s cost
So You came to find me where I was lost

Emptiness in my life and a hole in heart
This is where all my sins have left me scarred
But You won the war and showed me the lies
The glory of a soul that is fully alive

Human nature is selfish, to think of ourselves
But Your mercy saved me when I deserved hell
You reached out and called me to serve
And daily I’m finding, it’s a learning curve

You bridged separation up on the cross
Jesus’ death brought me to found from lost
I am convinced, You’ll remain in my heart
I know now what missed while we were apart

Leave a Reply

Best Race Signs

A collection of the signs that inspire us when we run races.

Bald Runner

My Journey In Ultra Running

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

running in circles

it's more fun to run together

Breaking the Chains

Moving Forward in Life

Faith4TheJourney

And this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent. ~John 17:3

Our Life On The Border

Our life and ministry on the Border, The Baja & Beyond!

Jesus is for Losers

Really Random Thoughts From a Crazed Follower of Jesus

liveworship

ˈliv ˈwər-shəp - The collision of life, God, and the church.

ONE MOUNTAIN AT A TIME

Sharing stories. Encouraging hearts.

Grace Bible Church - Killeen, TX

Trust God's GRACE. Submit to the BIBLE in community. Be the CHURCH.

