A totally unrelated thought and poem

1 Peter 3:8-17 8 Finally, all of you, be like-minded, be sympathetic, love one another, be compassionate and humble. 9 Do not repay evil with evil or insult with insult. On the contrary, repay evil with blessing, because to this you were called so that you may inherit a blessing. 10 For, “Whoever would love life and see good days must keep their tongue from evil and their lips from deceitful speech.11 They must turn from evil and do good; they must seek peace and pursue it. 12 For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous and his ears are attentive to their prayer, but the face of the Lord is against those who do evil.” 13 Who is going to harm you if you are eager to do good? 14 But even if you should suffer for what is right, you are blessed. “Do not fear their threats; do not be frightened.” 15 But in your hearts revere Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, 16 keeping a clear conscience, so that those who speak maliciously against your good behavior in Christ may be ashamed of their slander. 17 For it is better, if it is God’s will, to suffer for doing good than for doing evil.

I think what really hits me the most is realizing what I am and what I am not in comparison. Why do we have to be told to be all those things? Because, as a fallen man, we are naturally NOT like-minded, sympathetic, loving, compassionate, or humble. We are, naturally, a human race who finds it okay to fight, criticize and insult one another, to put others down and be mean and hateful, and to have hard, closed off hearts.

I’m also kind of glad that we touched on the issue of unjust suffering. I think that, that has been one of my biggest hurdles to overcome in my walk with Christ. I have suffered through quite a few things in my life that were far beyond my control and although some of those things may have been brought upon by my own sin, there are still many situations in my past that were simply unjust and the suffering I endured because of it was completely unfair. I know that we have all heard the say “life’s not fair, get over it,” but what about when that unfairness leads a child to suffer? Verse 13 made me mad the first time I read it, who is going to harm me? The first time I read that, I literally laughed and said, “Should I make a list?” But tonight, I began to see that verse in a different view. Someone pointed out, that if we read that verse in a rhetorical sense, as in WHO is going to harm me and the answer being Satan, who is he compared to God. What can Satan do to me that God cannot overcome?

So now what I need to do is keep my eyes focused on what Jesus has done for me, because in that I have so much hope. And you don’t realize how amazing hope is unless you’ve lived without it. When you live without hope, your life is not complete. A hopeless life is almost like a half-life, it’s a mere existence.

As we were discussing this tonight, I could feel the Holy Spirit tugging at my heart strings. This is, yet another, place where I realize what an amazing thing it is that Jesus did for us. Because I am new to all of this, I sometimes wonder if I am misinterpreting or misunderstanding some things and I am so thankful to have this wonderful group of people in my life to help me to make sense of it all. The great love, grace, and mercy that God has shown seems so overwhelming andI often stand in wonder of all that He’s done for me.

 

 

The Search
Her story began in a place with no father
And life’s not the same for a fatherless-daughter
As a child she wondered, who would ever love?
The brokenness in her heart, would she rise above?
She had lost her way before age thirteen
And ended up with a story, most wouldn’t believe
She begged for a savior to be by her side
Wanted daddy to love her, to be her guide
She pleaded for mercy, and hoped he would hear
The cries of despair, from the depths of her fear

Mistakes had stolen time that she couldn’t have back
Still he hadn’t saved her and still the years passed

As the years went on, she quit hoping for him
The dream of a daddy was lost in the wind
She turned her attentions to finding a man
One who would save her from a failing plan
But time after time, her hopes were shattered
Leading her to believe that her life didn’t matter
Rejected and shamed, she was lost in a life
Where nothing made sense and nothing felt right
So she took drastic steps to end her own pain
The selfish attempts to carve out the rain

Mistakes had stolen time that she couldn’t have back
Still he hadn’t saved her and still the years passed

Love, life, and time filled her empty space
“Don’t worry, I’m fine,” was easy to say
She was still broken, her soul was half empty
Little girls and their daddy, the target of envy
She made a vow, she had to find
The daddy she had, who missed all the time
The times she was hurt, times she was scared
And times all she needed, was to know that he cared
But her search didn’t stop when she felt his hug
He had embraced her with a greater love

Mistakes had stolen time that she couldn’t have back
But a Savior had saved her and put the past in the past
Her father, she now knows, hadn’t missed a tear
He had caught every one and saved them through the years
He had held her hand when she thought she was alone
And with a Savior by her side, she finally feels at home

Leave a Reply

Best Race Signs

A collection of the signs that inspire us when we run races.

Bald Runner

My Journey In Ultra Running

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

running in circles

it's more fun to run together

Breaking the Chains

Moving Forward in Life

Faith4TheJourney

And this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent. ~John 17:3

Our Life On The Border

Our life and ministry on the Border, The Baja & Beyond!

Jesus is for Losers

Really Random Thoughts From a Crazed Follower of Jesus

liveworship

ˈliv ˈwər-shəp - The collision of life, God, and the church.

ONE MOUNTAIN AT A TIME

Sharing stories. Encouraging hearts.

Grace Bible Church - Killeen, TX

Trust God's GRACE. Submit to the BIBLE in community. Be the CHURCH.

