Toddlers and the Bible – A Seed of Faith

Last weekend I got the girls their first Bibles. Mackenzie got The Jesus Storybook Bible and Rylinn got the Little Lamb’s Bible (if you know my maiden name, then you know why Rylinn’s Bible is so cute). But anyway, the girls LOVE their Bible’s. Mackenzie carries hers around with her all day and if she doesn’t know where it is she’ll come ask me, “mommy, where’s my Jesus Bible?”

Mackenzie has really been getting into the stories. Right now her favorite is the story of Abraham and Issac. She loves the pictures and she keeps asking, “mommy, where’s Abraham? Where’s Issac?” This is her favorite page within the story of Abraham and Issac:

But I think it is kind of crazy how it took a child’s Bible to make to correlation for me between Issac and Jesus. Mackenzie’s Bible says, “Many years later, another Son would climb another hill, carrying wood on his back. Like Issac, he would trust his Father and do what his Father asked. He wouldn’t struggle or run away.” Sometimes, I think I might learn more from my kids Bible stories than they do…child-like faith 😉

I’m pretty sure that they got their joy for reading from me. I love to lose myself in the pages of a book, and as far as I can remember, I’ve always been       that way. I think I’m becoming more into reading than I was before, if that is at all possible, now that I realize that there is so much that I want to know about God, Jesus, and the amazing thing that was done to save me. Sometimes, I get frustrated and I just wonder, “wow, how could I have never known? How did I never get it? How did no one ever tell me?” But I have to remember that God has a plan for me; Jeremiah 29:11 – “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”  I fully believe, even though I can’t see it now, that God is going to do something with the hurt in my life. He is going to use me to touch people who no one else can touch, for His sake. When I think about it like though, it is also kind of intimidating…the thought that God will use me for His glory and He will, like in the story of Joseph, turn what was meant for evil into good.

I’m glad my girls enjoy reading as much as I do…esspecially on rainy days like today 🙂

Mackenzie is also really funny because she doesn’t understand why the people in her Bible don’t have socks on. She asks, “Where are the mommy and daddy’s socks? or why don’t the girl and boy have shoes?” It is just too funny and kind of hard to explain to her that they don’t need any.

Also, on March 18th at 9am at Grace Bible Church, Robert and I will be dedicating the girls. I am so glad that I got our lives on the right track while the girls are still young. Having God in our lives has made me, and our girls, so much happier.

Leave a Reply

Best Race Signs

A collection of the signs that inspire us when we run races.

Bald Runner

My Journey In Ultra Running

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

running in circles

it's more fun to run together

Breaking the Chains

Moving Forward in Life

Faith4TheJourney

And this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent. ~John 17:3

Our Life On The Border

Our life and ministry on the Border, The Baja & Beyond!

Jesus is for Losers

Really Random Thoughts From a Crazed Follower of Jesus

liveworship

ˈliv ˈwər-shəp - The collision of life, God, and the church.

ONE MOUNTAIN AT A TIME

Sharing stories. Encouraging hearts.

Grace Bible Church - Killeen, TX

Trust God's GRACE. Submit to the BIBLE in community. Be the CHURCH.

