Freedom in Trust

This was read during a friends testimony at CR last night – “God will not protect you form things that he will perfect you through.”

This is the poem that I wrote for a wodnerful friend, to go along with his testimony.
Freedom in Trust
Children learn what they live
And he learned to drink
But it wasn’t till later
That he saw the link

In the meantime he drowned
In the pain of his sorrow
Promise after promise
It’d be better tomorrow
He couldn’t get out
Of the sin, he was trapped
And with only his power
He’d see God’s wrath
He was on his way
To death through his sin
But that’s when he gave up
And a Savior came in

Jesus embraced him
And said to him, “Son,
Just give up the battle,
I’ve already won.
Give me your burdens.
Give me your tears.
And don’t ever forget,
I know all your fears.”

You see, freedom is found
Only in trust
Trust in a Savior
Who’ll never give up
Sin has a price
And pain will ensue
But depending on God
Is what brought him through

I think what I love the most about the Gospel is just the pure freedom we find in trusting Christ. I know, at least for me and maybe everyone else is different from me, that before I had Christ in my life, I was bound, chained, and imprisoned. But the imprisonment was within myself. I was imprisoned in a life of sin that I couldn’t get out of.

Yesterday, I was listening to the Grace Bible Church podcast. And I was listening to a sermon that Pastor Dave preached back in November called Follow the Warrior and I caught a glimpse of something wonderful!! This passage in Mark reminds me of myself.

Mark  5:1-20
They came to the other side of the sea, to the country of Gerasenes. And when Jesus had stepped out of the boat, immediately there met Him out of the tombs a man with an unclean spirit. He lived among the tombs. And no one could bind him anymore, not even with a chain, for he had often been bound with shackles and chains, but he wrenched the chains apart and he broke the shackles in pieces. No one had the strength to subdue him. Night and day among the tombs and on the mountain he was crying out and cutting himself with stones. And when he saw Jesus from afar, he ran and fell down before him. And crying out with a loud voice, he said, “What have you to do with me, Jesus, Son of the Most High God? I adjure you by God, do not torment me.” For he was saying to him, “Come out of the man, you unclean spirit!” And Jesus asking him, “What is your name?” He replied, “My name is Legion, for we are many.” And they begged Him earnestly not to send them out of the country. Now a great herd of pigs was feeding there on the hillside and they begged him, saying, “Send us to the pigs; let us enter them.” So He gave them permission. And the unclean spirits came out and entered the pigs; and the herd, numbering about two thousand, rushed down the steep bank into the sea and drowned in the sea.

The herdsmen fled and told it in the city and in the country. And people came to see what it was that had happened. And they came to Jesus and the demmon-possessed man, the one who had, had the legion, sitting there, clothed in his right mind, and they were afraid. And those who had seen it described to them what had happened to the demon-possessed man and to the pigs. And they began to beg Jesus to depart for their region. As he was getting into the boat, the man who had been possesses with demons begged Him that he might be with Him. And He did not permit him but said to him, “Go home to your friends and tell how much the Lord has done for you, and how He has had mercy on you.” And he went away and began to proclaim in the Decapolis how much Jesus had done for him, and everyone marveled.

Before I knew Christ, my life was uncontrollable. Nothing I did helped and nothing anyone else did could help to subdue it. I was at odds with myself, hurting myself both physically and emotionally. I was imprisoned within myself, with no way to get out. I was uncontrollable. I was the man with the unclean spirit, lonely and hurting, lost and forsaken.

But what I now know is that I was never forsaken because God promises in Hebrews, I will never leave you nor forsake you. I think that, that alone is, for me, one of the most powerful statements. To know that God is ALWAYS with me and that he will NEVER leave me. To know that God ALWAYS loves me and will NEVER give up on me. This is a kind of love that I cannot fathom, it’s beyond my power of recognition. But, I’ll take it 🙂

Like the demon-possessed man, knowing what Jesus has done for me, I just want to be with Him. Forget about everyone else, I just want to spend my time in His presence and worship Him. Standing in awe of His presence is simply wonderful. I read in a book once, “Once you have been truly saved, you can’t help but worship,” and lately, I’ve found, that this is where I find myself – worshiping Him for all He has done and for all He has yet to do. I know that God who began a good work in me will be faithful to see it through (I don’t know that verse word for word, or even the reference for it, but I love it nonetheless.)

This song is a current favorite of mine right now, I can’t get it out of my head and it’s just a constant reminder of our gret God Robbie Seay Band – Song of Hope.

Leave a Reply

Best Race Signs

A collection of the signs that inspire us when we run races.

Bald Runner

My Journey In Ultra Running

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

running in circles

it's more fun to run together

Breaking the Chains

Moving Forward in Life

Faith4TheJourney

And this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent. ~John 17:3

Our Life On The Border

Our life and ministry on the Border, The Baja & Beyond!

Jesus is for Losers

Really Random Thoughts From a Crazed Follower of Jesus

liveworship

ˈliv ˈwər-shəp - The collision of life, God, and the church.

ONE MOUNTAIN AT A TIME

Sharing stories. Encouraging hearts.

Grace Bible Church - Killeen, TX

Trust God's GRACE. Submit to the BIBLE in community. Be the CHURCH.

