My Life is a Mess – And God Loves Me This Way

Before my Christian life began, I had all but given up belief in a God who could ever love me the way I was. I thought, if there was a God, He would never love me in the midst of my mess. He would never want anything to do with me until I got my junk together and cleaned up my act – and I had tried! I had spent many years trying to “get it together” so I could be all that everyone expected of me and then, just maybe, God would love me. But it always seemed to be futile because the more I tried to straighten things out, it seems the bigger mess I made.

Then I sent an e-mail that changed my life. Really, it only made my life messier, but it also introduced me to a love that I never knew existed. That e-mail was sent to my dad.

My dad hadn’t been a part of my life since I was a baby, my parents divorced when I was an infant. Regardless of the reasons why he wasn’t there, I forgave him. Even at 23 years old, with a family and kids of my own…I still needed him in my life. Forgiving him was easy…but getting the rest of my family to accept that I could forgive him – that was a whole seperate issue.

This distant man who I shared DNA with turned out to be the biggest catalyst in me giving my life to Christ. He sent me a Bible and began teaching me about the truths of the Bible. I will be forever grateful for the time I got to spend with him. He taught me so much, and eventually led me to make the greatest decision I have ever made in my life – giving my life to Christ.

It was hard for me to accept that God didn’t want me to come to Him once I “got it together,” He wanted me now so He could help me clean up the mess I had made of my life. I was hard to fathom that the same God who created the universe, intimately loves me and wants me to be close to Him.

In the last 9 months, I have learned many priceless lessons about my messy life. But the most important lesson I have learned is that – yeah, my life is a mess. It’s a total disaster…but God still loves me this way. God is going to take my mess and turn it into a message and He is going to use me, and my mess, to glorify Him.

So next time you think your life is too messy for God, take a look at the lives of some of the most famous people of the Bible…their lives were messy too. Their is no mess too big for God and there is no mess that He can’t use to glorify Him. We just need to welcome Him into our messes.

One response to “My Life is a Mess – And God Loves Me This Way

  • Bill Lamb

    This was a great statement and in my devotional today I read something that applied to me and reminded me of what you wrote here. Ephesians 2:19-22 MSG – That’s plain enough, isn’t it? You’re no longer wandering exiles. This kingdom of faith is now your home country. You’re no longer strangers or outsiders. You belong here, with as much right to the name Christian as anyone. God is building a home. He’s using us all—irrespective of how we got here—in what he is building. He used the apostles and prophets for the foundation. Now he’s using you, fitting you in brick by brick, stone by stone, with Christ Jesus as the cornerstone that holds all the parts together. We see it taking shape day after day—a holy temple built by God, all of us built into it, a temple in which God is quite at home.

    It is amazing how he uses our troubles to glorify his name. Love you!

Leave a Reply

Best Race Signs

A collection of the signs that inspire us when we run races.

Bald Runner

My Journey In Ultra Running

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

running in circles

it's more fun to run together

Breaking the Chains

Moving Forward in Life

Faith4TheJourney

And this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent. ~John 17:3

Our Life On The Border

Our life and ministry on the Border, The Baja & Beyond!

Jesus is for Losers

Really Random Thoughts From a Crazed Follower of Jesus

liveworship

ˈliv ˈwər-shəp - The collision of life, God, and the church.

ONE MOUNTAIN AT A TIME

Sharing stories. Encouraging hearts.

Grace Bible Church - Killeen, TX

Trust God's GRACE. Submit to the BIBLE in community. Be the CHURCH.

