The Significance of Insignificance

When you look, and I mean REALLY look at how big God is and everything He has done, it can make you feel pretty small and insignificant. And it rightfully should, I think. If we think we are useful to God and that He can do something with us, we’re useless to Him and He can’t use us. It’s only when we humble ourselves before God and admit to Him that we know we are useless without Him, that He can use us for His glory.Needle in a Haystack

Recently, I’ve been thinking a lot about just how small I am in this HUGE world that we live in. There are billions of people on this earth and I am just one single person in a sea of many. It’s like the needle in a haystack analogy, and I feel like the needle. It’s hard to imagine HOW God can use me or WHY He would use me, when there are so many other, less broken, people to choose from.

In the midst of my thinking and wondering and contemplating, I came across Ephesians 2:10 – For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

This verse really caught my attention this morning. I don’t believe in coincidences; I think God sent me this verse for a very important reason. You see, I’ve really been struggling with my insignificance. I know I am just one person in this world and sometimes I forget that I really can make a difference. Sometimes I forget that God’s hands were hard at work in the making of my life. Sometimes I forget that He crafted me, like a piece of art. When I look in the mirror and see a flawed picture of what I should be, I am forgetting that when God looks at me He sees His flawless daughter; a daughter who He loves and who He created. When I accepted Christ as my Lord and Savior I gained a new identity in Him and now, when God looks at me, He doesn’t see the broken, flawed human being that I see – He sees Christ’s righteousness.

God has things planned for me; wonderful things that I am not aware of, nor can even fathom. God is using my brokenness and insignificance to bring glory to Himself by giving me the strength and courage to share that with other people. Over the last few weeks I have had a handful of people tell me how I have encouraged them, and I am always taken aback when I hear that. I always think, how could little old broken me be an encouragement to anyone? Then I am reminded by God’s Word that it is because of my brokenness that I am able to encourage others.

There’s a beautiful song that is constant reminder to of Who I belong to and how valuable I am to Him, even in my insignificance. Alexa Willis – You Are His.

My prayer for myself and for you is that we will let God work, through our brokenness, so that we can glorify Him; that we will reach out when we need help and stop suffering in silence; that we will love those around us and share our struggles; that we will depend on Him and seek only His will for our lives. But mostly, I pray that we will learn to live Ephesians 2:10 and that we will recognize that God made us His priceless work of art and He has a purpose for us. Are we willing to let Him use us? Are we willing to admit the significance of our insignificance?

2 responses to “The Significance of Insignificance

Leave a Reply

Best Race Signs

A collection of the signs that inspire us when we run races.

Bald Runner

My Journey In Ultra Running

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

running in circles

it's more fun to run together

Breaking the Chains

Moving Forward in Life

Faith4TheJourney

And this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent. ~John 17:3

Our Life On The Border

Our life and ministry on the Border, The Baja & Beyond!

Jesus is for Losers

Really Random Thoughts From a Crazed Follower of Jesus

liveworship

ˈliv ˈwər-shəp - The collision of life, God, and the church.

ONE MOUNTAIN AT A TIME

Sharing stories. Encouraging hearts.

Grace Bible Church - Killeen, TX

Trust God's GRACE. Submit to the BIBLE in community. Be the CHURCH.

