I’m Not Who I Was

Frail emotions
On the brink of destruction
Stability’s fading
And I’m losing my traction
Lies piercing my soul
Feeling so much like truth
Broken reality
Truth and lie fused

Have I loved You completely?
Have I given up my control?
I thought that I had
Now I question my soul
Show me what You will
Remove all the lies
I can’t see the difference
With this cluttered mind
Do I really love You?
Or am I just a fake?
I say that it’s real
But is that a mistake?

Anxieties invade
Love’s a deception
Hope for the broken
It’s all for attention
Striving for freedom
From sins that run deep
Guilty heart must admit
“Father, I’m weak”

Have I loved You completely?
Have I given up my control?
I thought that I had
Now I question my soul
Show me what You will
Remove all the lies
I can’t see the difference
With this cluttered mind
Do I really love You?
Or am I just a fake?
I say that it’s real
But is that a mistake?

Unblinded eyes
Burn from the light
Holiness shining
With hope in the night
Human ability
Minimal at best
Divine strength
Offers sweet rest

I have not loved You completely
But the best way I knew how
It’s not my full potential
But it’s all I have now
Show me what You will
As You expose all the truth
I will see my shortcomings
And keep turning to You
My heart aches to love You
It’s not been an act
Each day you still mold me
It’s been all that I have

Mending wounds
From past heartache and failure
Beautiful guidance
In the hands of a Savior
Awestruck devotion
The transformation of love
All I can say
Is I’m not who I was

2 responses to “I’m Not Who I Was

Leave a Reply

Best Race Signs

A collection of the signs that inspire us when we run races.

Bald Runner

My Journey In Ultra Running

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

running in circles

it's more fun to run together

Breaking the Chains

Moving Forward in Life

Faith4TheJourney

And this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent. ~John 17:3

Our Life On The Border

Our life and ministry on the Border, The Baja & Beyond!

Jesus is for Losers

Really Random Thoughts From a Crazed Follower of Jesus

liveworship

ˈliv ˈwər-shəp - The collision of life, God, and the church.

ONE MOUNTAIN AT A TIME

Sharing stories. Encouraging hearts.

Grace Bible Church - Killeen, TX

Trust God's GRACE. Submit to the BIBLE in community. Be the CHURCH.

