7-in-7 Day 4: Tired Mom

Today has been rough day in the Fisher house. It’s one of those, “God, what am I do here? Have I failed my kids?” kind of days….although worn out and tired from fighting with miniature versions of myself, it inspired today’s poem…

Tired Mom
Right now as I sit here
I’m watching you play
And I can’t help but cry
As I silently pray
I pray for your heart
And I pray for mine
I pray that God helps me
To do better next time
I pray for my temper
And for my angry words
That God helps me to see
The power they hold

All the hopes and the dreams
I have for your life
They don’t really matter
If I don’t teach you what’s right
There are times I’ll succeed
Do this parenting thing right
And other times I will fail
And be too tired to fight

I want to read you a story
Cuddle you in my lap
But I’m losing my patience
Because you won’t take a nap
I want to teach you
About life and love
But if I can be honest
Some days I want to give up
I want you to know
What Jesus has done for you
You need His grace every day
And trust me, I need it too

Some days you won’t listen
And I feel like I’ve failed
Still some days are easy
And it feels like smooth sails
This parenting thing
Is confusing at best
And too often I feel
Like I’m just making a mess

You look right at me
Innocent wonder in your eyes
And I can’t help but ask
If I’m damaging your life
I can only do so much
So I want you to see
I can’t do it on my own
I need God helping me
But just like you, I am stubborn
And sometimes I don’t listen
Some days I don’t follow
When God gives directions

God gave you to me
And blessed my life with you
The job He’s given to me
Raise you up in the truth
I’ll give you limits
At times I’ll tell you no
You may not like it
But it’ll help you to grow
I must give you rules
And teach you to obey
Through every struggle
Together we’ll pray

One response to “7-in-7 Day 4: Tired Mom

  • dtdeedge

    Good luck.
    They are relentless taskmasters,
    The miniature versions of ourselves.
    They consume all we can manage,
    Yet cry out for more,
    More than is humanly possible
    In the strongest of times,
    Much less
    After weeks and months of broken sleep

    We are doomed to fail,
    Yet,
    From time to time,
    It seems we may succeed,
    Even if only a little.

Leave a Reply

Best Race Signs

A collection of the signs that inspire us when we run races.

Bald Runner

My Journey In Ultra Running

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

running in circles

it's more fun to run together

Breaking the Chains

Moving Forward in Life

Faith4TheJourney

And this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent. ~John 17:3

Our Life On The Border

Our life and ministry on the Border, The Baja & Beyond!

Jesus is for Losers

Really Random Thoughts From a Crazed Follower of Jesus

liveworship

ˈliv ˈwər-shəp - The collision of life, God, and the church.

ONE MOUNTAIN AT A TIME

Sharing stories. Encouraging hearts.

Grace Bible Church - Killeen, TX

Trust God's GRACE. Submit to the BIBLE in community. Be the CHURCH.

